Urayama Laboratory Home Page

Lab Home People Publications Physics Department Home For Interested Students

Biophysics and Biotechnology at High Pressures
Metabolic Sensing, Microscopy Imaging, Piezophysiology

Last Updated: September 16, 2021.

We are a predominately-undergraduate, research-active physics department.
My passion to actively involve undergraduate and master's students in biophysical and biotechnological research.
Student research involvement fosters critical thinking, confidence, and a deeper appreciation of science regardless of career objectives.


Interested in joining the lab? Click here for more information.


  • 2021-09-15: Tommy Finn gave an excellent department seminar talk on his summer research project. Good work!
  • 2021-08-19: Our paper now appears in Molecules as a Feature Paper. Prof. Fumiyoshi Abe of Aoyama Gakuin University (Japan) is a collaborator on this work.
  • 2021-07-21: Congratulations to Bibek Dhakal for passing his master's thesis defense. He is off to Vanderbilt in a few weeks!
  • 2021-05-24: Our paper now appears in RSC Advances.
  • 2021-05-05: Congratulations to the following department award winners:
    • Bibek Dhakal for being awarded both the Outstanding Graduate Student Researcher award and the AAPT Outstanding Graduate Student Teacher award!
    • Tommy Finn, Taylor Phillips, and Nick Majer for being awarded Commendation in Undergraduate Research awards!
  • 2021-04-21: Congratulations to Bibek Dhakal, who accepted an offer of admissions to the doctoral program in physics at Vanderbilt University. He had multiple competitive offers. Great work!
  • 2021-04-21: Nick Majer, Tommy Finn, and Taylor Phillips presented at the 27th Annual Undergraduate Research Forum held virtually this year.
  • 2021-04-05: Tommy Finn and Nick Majer received Undergraduate Summer Scholars awards.
  • 2021-03-06: Taylor Phillips, Tommy Finn, and Bibek Dhakal are co-authors on a talk presented at the 2021 SPIE Photonics West conference. Prof. Vishwanath (Miami U.) is a collaborator on this work.
  • 2021-02-22: Bibek Dhakal, Martin Heidelman, Andy Rodriguez, Max Kreider are co-authors on a poster presented at the 65th Annual Meeting of the Biophysical Society. Prof. Abe (Aoyama Gakuin University) is a collaborator on this work.
  • 2020-11-23: Congratulations to Bibek Dhakal for successfully defending his master's prospectus.
  • 2020-11-06: Bibek Dhakal presented his thesis work at Miami University's Graduate Research Forum.
  • 2020-05-21: Max Kreider and Andy Rodriguez successfully defended their department honors thesis. Great work!
  • 2020-05-13: It's the department's annual awards time! Because we could not meet in person this year, a daily reveal countdown was posted on the department web site.
    • Max Kreider is the department's Outstanding Senior(department's highest award)!
    • Andy Rodriguez has received the department's Outstanding Undergraduate Research award. Wohoo!
    • Tommy Finn and Taylor Phillips have also received Commendation in Undergraduate Research awards.
  • 2020-05-12: Taylor Phillips and Tommy Finn have been awarded an Undergraduate Research Award grant.
  • 2020-04-29: Max Kreider, Andy Rodriguez, Taylor Phillips, Tommy Finn, Karthik Sastry, and Nick Majer all presented at the 26th Annual Undergraduate Research Forum (front page image), which was 100% online this year. An amazing organizing feat by Office of Research for Undergraduates.
  • 2020-04-20: Congratulations on accepting doctoral program offers - Max Kreider (Case Western Reserve University, applied math) and Andy Rodriguez (Yale University, biophysics)! Both had multiple offers from highly competitive programs. Great work and best wishes!
  • 2020-04-01: Karthik Sastry received an Undergraduate Summer Scholars award. (Unfortunately, the program is cancelled due to the pandemic.)
  • 2020-02-01: Max Kreider and Andy Rodriguez attended the SPIE Photonics West conference in San Francisco. I have a talk on their work titled "Spectral phasor analysis of autofluorescence responses from cells embedded in turbid media containing collagen."

OLDER LAB NEWS (2007-2019)

ARTICLE from International Innovation, describing our research.