The Study Area

            The focus of this study is on the region of Germany along the North Sea coast from the Elbe to the Ems. During the Kaiserreich, the region comprised the Prussian administrative districts of Stade and Aurich and the Grand Duchy of Oldenburg. It was was represented in the Reichstag by six constituencies, Hanover 1, 2, 18 and 19, and Oldenburg 1 and 2. In the Weimar Reichstag, these constituencies were consolidated into parts of Hannover-Ost and Weser-Ems.

            For a relatively small area, the region possessed diverse landscapes, settlement types and social structures. An illustrated discussion of each of these features, as well as historical maps of the area, can be accessed through the left menu bar.